The Army Historical Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Army Historical Foundation Distinguished Writing Awards. The 2021 awards honor books and articles published in 2021. 

The winners: 


General John A. Rawlins: No Ordinary Man, by Allen J. Ottens (Indiana University Press) 

Operational/Battle History 

Island Infernos: The US Army’s Pacific War Odyssey, 1944, by John C. McManus (Dutton Caliber) 

Institutional/Functional History 

The United States Army and the Making of America: From Confederation to Empire, 1775-1903, by Robert Wooster (University Press of Kansas) 

Journals, Memoirs, and Letters 

Till Victory: The Second World War by Those Who Were There, by Clément Horvath (Pen & Sword Military) 

Unit History 
Men of Armor: The History of B Company, 756th Tank Battalion in World War II, by Jeff Danby (Casemate) 

Reference and Compilation 

No award presented 

Article Awards 

Academic Journals  

“The Gulf War at 30,” by J. Travis Moger. Army History, Winter 2021. 

Journals and Magazines 
“A Savior of the Capitol,” by Paul Russinoff. Military Images, Spring 2021.  

The book award winners receive a plaque honoring the book and a $1,000 cash award.  The article award winners also received a plaque and a $250 cash award.  

The Army Historical Foundation, a non-profit, tax-exempt organization, is dedicated to preserving the history and heritage of the American soldier.  Its goal is to promote greater public appreciation for the contributions that America’s Army – Regular, Reserve, and National Guard – has made to the nation in 247 years of service.  The Foundation is the principal fundraiser for the National Museum of the United States Army at Fort Belvoir, VA, which opened to the public on 11 November 2020. 

In addition to fundraising for the National Museum of the United States Army, the Foundation’s projects and activities include refurbishment of historical Army buildings; acquisition and conservation of historical art, artifacts, and documents; support of Army history education programs; historical research; publication of historical materials on the American soldier; and providing counsel and support to private and governmental organizations committed to the same goals as the Foundation. 

The AHF Distinguished Writing Awards program was established in 1997 to recognize authors who make a significant contribution to the literature on U.S. Army history. Each year nominations are submitted to the Awards Committee by publishers and journal editors.  A small group of finalists are selected and a final judging is made.  The winners are announced in the spring.   

Thank you to all the book publishers and journals/magazines who submitted nominees for this year’s awards. We look forward to you participation in next year’s program. 

For more information on the Foundation and its activities, please view the AHF website at  

For more information on the AHF Distinguished Writing Awards, please contact:
Mr. Matthew J. Seelinger
Chief Historian
Army Historical Foundation
Arlington, VA 22201
(703) 562-4166;